A Good Start Into the New Year

In December the Authors Show announced the winners in its 2014 “50 Great Writers You Should Be Reading” contest, and I was very happy to find out that I was one of them. Authors had to submit a 1000 word essay about their writing journey. Thank you to all who voted for me and made it happen for me.

2014-winner300dpi

Here is the essay I submitted in the contest.

Why I Write—My Writing Journey

© Karynne Summars-All Rights Reserved

Author of Desperate Pursuit in Venice and Desperate Pursuit in Rio de Janeiro

As students in elementary school we received a task to write inspirational quotes in our fellow students’ diaries. These had to be meaningful and also guide them toward a goal as well as inspire them to do well in life. I enjoyed this writing task and put a lot of thought into that before I put pen to paper.

Before email communications existed I also enjoyed writing letters to friends and family members going into great detail to describe my travel experiences and other activities, which I often enhanced with a suitable cutout from a magazine to provide a visual aid.

Despite these early signs, I had no idea yet at that time that I would start writing novels one day. I loved to read and often admired the way the authors/writers told their stories and allowed me to envision it like a movie in my mind. When I watched a movie made adapted from a book I had read I was often disappointed because the book was so much better than the movie. I concluded that a writer could take you much deeper into the story.

Later in life when I worked as a corporate finance professional I had to prepare board presentations for deals I was pursuing. I made sure to describe the transactions thoroughly, always keeping in mind the readers who had to make a decision based on my written presentations if to pursue a transaction further or not. While I was working in this position I always felt that something was missing in my life. To satisfy my creative side I started to prepare storybooks with the title “This Was Your Life at XXX” for colleagues who left our company. These would describe the respective colleague’s experiences at work as well as our friendship and related stories. I also used photos I had taken over the years to show and tell.

About 3 years ago I had the urge to start writing a book. I wasn’t sure if I would be able to finish an entire novel. So I started with a couple of pages to see where this would go. I was amazed how whenever I sat down to write the material was flowing without any signs of writer’s block. I often wrote until 2 a.m., although I had to get up around 6:30 a.m. again to get ready for work.

Pretty soon I realized that this was what had been missing in my life—my love for storytelling, entertaining readers and touching them emotionally. The challenge now was to find the time to be able to write and finish the novel I had started. It soon became very clear that I had to follow my passion for writing so that I eventually left the finance industry to focus on my creative talent. I finished my first novel within seven months. Today, I can honestly say I am living my dream.

My first novel entitled Desperate Pursuit in Venice is a story of what can happen when infatuation turns an otherwise brilliant and attractive man into a dark person in order to fulfill his desire for the love of a woman he cannot have. It describes true love as well as the painful emotions and negative psychological effects of unattainable love resulting in ultimate desperate actions. The story is mostly set in Italy. It starts in New York because the female protagonist lives and works there and then goes briefly to Berlin since the female main character is originally from Berlin, which gave me the opportunity to lead into an unfolding drama plot. One entire chapter plays in Maui, Hawaii where the two main characters spend an enticing vacation together, their first as a couple. Needless to say, I used to live in Hawaii so I had to include this beautiful location.

They say that you should write about what you know and so I did. The book is loosely based on certain of my life and work experiences to which I then added more exciting events and captivating characters. I also created one specific scenario to allow me to introduce a self-help/personal growth book to my readers. I had attended a workshop the author had given where she introduced certain methods, which teach how to cut ties to people or situations that are unhealthy for you and may cause unhappiness or worse. I figured if by introducing these amazing methods to my readers in my novel, which had also helped me to overcome some stress situations and changed my life, and they would only help one person to change his/her life, that this would be a reward for me. At the same time, this would show my gratitude to the author of this particular book.

Setting the story in beautiful international locations allows readers to virtually travel there and to live vicariously through the captivating characters. But the storyline also has a serious side and a message, i.e. get help before it is too late if you find yourself in a situation as described in the book. It addresses unattainable love as well as infatuation and obsession with someone you can’t have.

I also wanted to set my book apart from recently published ones in this genre. Therefore I created a strong female main character who, while seductive, is also beautiful inside and out and a woman of substance. The exciting business plot and how she handles the complications, which could derail an important business transaction, gives readers a thought-provoking angle to contemplate how they would have handled the enormous pressure she had to deal with on all levels. The then following thriller plot is unpredictable and lets readers ponder what if.

While I was writing this story, I went through all kinds of emotions. I laughed, I cried and I was proud of my female main character. I felt compassion for the antagonist and often felt sorry for him because no one should ever have to go through in life what I make him go through in this story. The sequel gave me the opportunity to come up with new situations, thrilling and emotional in the extreme. I love my life as a writer and I am grateful to have received the gift of storytelling from the universe.

My Other Happy Event

Desperate Pursuit in Rio de Janeiro, the sequel to Desperate Pursuit in Venice will be published soon. It is currently going through the proof process to make sure the book is fit to be printed. It took me some time to settle on the book cover for this one. I had some ideas, which I discussed with the cover designer Sean Strong, who I found through Author Dennis Larsen. I was very impressed with Dennis’ cover for this novel With Cruel Intent, which Sean had done. Dennis was kind enough to refer me to his book cover designer.

Sean came up with a great first draft for the DPIR cover.  From there we worked to fine-tune it. So, here it is. I hope you like it as much as I do. Meanwhile I have started my third novel, an espionage thriller. More on that in the near future. Stay tuned for the official launch date announcement for Desperate Pursuit in Rio de Janeiro.

For more information on my works and what else I am up to, please visit my website http://www.karynnesummars.com, and while you are there, don’t forget to sign up with your email address to stay in touch for future announcements.

Karynne Summars

The author of the drama romance thriller novels Desperate Pursuit in Venice and Desperate Pursuit in Rio de Janeiro was born and raised in Berlin, Germany. She currently lives in New York and Marbella, Spain. The winner of the 2014 MARSocial Author-of-the-Year Award and an Executive Producer of the psychological thriller feature film Disturbed (2015) is a frequent guest on various radio shows. Her mission is to entertain a broad audience, touch readers emotionally and guide them toward personal growth and empowerment. In December 2014, she was named one of the winners in the 2014 “50 Great Writers You Should Be Reading” contest presented by the Authors Show.

Leave a Reply

